FLSA 2016 Archive - Human Resources at Ohio State
FLSA 2016 Archive
Updates in 2016 by the U.S. Department of Labor to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) expanded the number of employees eligible for overtime pay. Employees who make less than $47,476 per year in base salary are eligible to receive overtime pay when working more than 40 hours in a week, except for those excluded by the statute. Individuals who earn more than $47,476 may also be eligible based upon their job status.
Effective October 30, 2016, affected Ohio State employees changed from being exempt to non-exempt and became eligible for overtime pay when they work more than 40 hours in a week.
The final monthly paycheck for affected employees was October 31, 2016. The first biweekly paycheck for affected employees was November 25, 2016. The transition created a gap between the last monthly paycheck and the first biweekly paycheck.
The university offered a one-time pay advance to help bridge the gap from monthly to biweekly pay. The opt-in deadline was October 29, 2016, for participating in the pay advance.
Those who opted in are repaying the advance over six months through deductions from 13 biweekly paychecks. The final payment will be May 26, 2017. The advance is not taxed, and the university is providing this offer at no cost to affected employees. Interest and charges will not apply if the advance is repaid on time.
How do I repay the advance?
The advance will be repaid over six months through 13 equal deductions from your biweekly paycheck. This is an after tax deduction and will be taken after your retirement, taxes and health care deductions.
Can I repay the advance at an accelerated rate?
No, the only option to repay is via payroll deduction over six months (13 pay periods).
What happens if I leave the university?
If you leave the university (whether by your choice or through termination) before you repay the Payroll Advance in full, the remaining amount will be taken out of your final paycheck. If your final paycheck does not cover the remaining amount, you will have 30 days to repay the advance before the outstanding bill is sent to University Collections.
What happens if I change positions and go back to being paid monthly?
The outstanding balance of the advance will be deducted from your first monthly paycheck. If the net amount of your first monthly paycheck is insufficient to repay the advance, the university will deduct the remaining balance from subsequent paychecks until the advance is repaid in full.
What happens if I take an unpaid leave of absence?
You will be required to pay the remaining balance by May 26, 2017 — the same date that your final payment would be due under your original repayment schedule. If repayment is not received within 30 days of that date, the outstanding bill will be sent to University Collections.